IPHK has been set up as a distinct institution under the Society for Health and Demographic Surveillance (SHDS), a publicly-funded registered society under the Department of Health and Family Welfare (DOHFW) umbrella. The routine operational management of the Institute rests with the
IPHK Council.

Chairperson Mrs Sanghamitra Ghosh, IAS
Officiating Director, IPHK
Member-Secretary Dr Abhijit Chowdhury
Professor and Head of the Department of Hepatology , Institute of Post Graduate Medical Education and Research (IPGMER)
Member Secretary, SHDS
  Dr. Sohini Banerjee, Assistant Professor
  Dr. Sumit Mazumdar, Assistant Professor
  Dr. Papiya Guha Mazumdar,
Associate Professor, IPHK
  Shri. Rupam Banerjee, WBCS(Exe)
Registrar, IPHK
  Dr. Supriyo Mitra,
Administrative Officer, IPHK

The overarching governance and policy direction is provided by the Governing Body/Executive Committee of the SHDS, which has Hon’ble Minister-in-Charge, DoHFW is the Chairperson of SHDS, and Additional Chief Secretary, DOHFW is the Vice-Chairperson. Several other renowned academicians and policy-makers function as the members of the SHDS Governing Body.

For Academic matters, a Board of Studies include a multi-disciplinary group of experts.

Chairman Prof Achin Chakraborty, Director,
Institute of Development Studies Kolkata
BOS Members  
  Prof (Dr.) Narendra Nath Naskar,
Prof. and Head, Dept of Public Health Administration,
All India Institute of Hygiene and Public Health, Kolkata
  Prof (Dr.) Raghunath Mishra,
Prof and Head, Dept. of Community Medicine,
Institute of Post Graduate Medical Education and Research (IPGMER)